Blessed is the Match: The Life and Death of Hannah Senesh

It’s been a little while since I last wrote about a book or movie (I think Life of Pi was the last one I talked about), but that’s because most movies, documentaries, or books, they just don’t open up that inner dialogue as much as others. Sure, I watch T.v or movies almost every day, and I enjoy it, it’s a good source of “sit and watch” entertainment that takes little thought or action. It’s usually on in the background while I crochet or make things, today I have a great one to share though! Blessed is the Match is a docudrama written about the life of Hannah Senesh, and her death… I think mostly it’s about using your voice to put some light into the world, and shows that one voice does make a difference. I had never heard of Hannah before, which was surprising for me because I do read and watch a lot of documentaries about the people from that time and how the war impacted their lives or what side they stood on. i don’t want to ruin the journey for those that plan on watching the film or reading the many books about her, but I will say that she was an exceptional person, and if you wake up one day and feel like it’s hard to get up in the morning – watch this. Through overwhelming adversity, struggle, and cruelty she shines in her poetry, her compassion for others, and her pride of who she is. Watching or reading these kinds of things always overwhelms my emotions. It’s hard for me to watch someone so pure and so lovely go through so many horrible injustices. I’ve watched films about the lives of people on both sides of the coin and I always end up with an inner dialogue about myself. Would I be brave and stand up for what I truly believed even if it cost me my life? Would I be able to do the right thing, or help those I loved avoid being persecuted for no reason? How could something on this scale happen? How could a few sparks of cruelty and malice turn into such a huge fire that spread across so many countries? How did people let this happen? It amazes me the stories of bravery and kindness, empathy and love, dedication and hope that I read about or watch about the survivors, people that helped, and people that fought for what was right, and then it breaks my heart when I hear the flip-side of that, all the horrible injustice, the cruelty, the outright evil that people had to endure. How do so many people turn their backs and hearts on the one true principle we as a species should scream from our being? We’re all people. We love differently, think differently, act differently, pray to different gods, live differently and look differently, but at our very core we all are the same. We are people. How can you look into the eyes of another person and not see a soul? How can you take a young girl at 22 and murder her, just for trying to help her mother and her people? It breaks my heart, but it’s beautiful. I think that in a place filled with darkness, that’s when you see the twinkle of a small light the best. I’m so very glad that I got to hear her story, and I hope that everyone watches it. Keep some kleenex with you!

Here is one of her poems, just to give you a taste of her inner beauty and beautiful spirit.

“One – two – three… eight feet long
Two strides across, the rest is dark…
Life is a fleeting question mark
One – two – three… maybe another week.
Or the next month may still find me here,
But death, I feel is very near.
I could have been 23 next July
I gambled on what mattered most,
The dice were cast. I lost.”
This poem was found in her death cell, after she was executed.
I know this is heavy reading on the heart for a Monday morning, but please don’t take it as such. It’s meant to be uplifting, inspiring, and celebrate the undying human spirit! So, let’s all make the world a little bit brighter today, please? Smile at a neighbor or stranger, open the door for someone else. 🙂 Let’s make this week a great week!
X’s and O’s,
Lulu
Leave a Reply

