Month of Thanks: Days 8-11

I have been so busy the past couple of days. I have literally spent every second I’m awake – taking care of the cats, crocheting, working out, or studying. I’m SO thankful that I have such a great support system while Dan is gone, or I think I’d lose the very few marbles I have left rolling around. 🙂 

 

Day 8: I’m thankful for Fridays. In my work and home life, I don’t really have a “Friday”. I work or do chores or knock out a to do list, every day. I’m grateful for Fridays for everyone else in my life though. They all work very hard all through the week and I’m so glad that they get a day off to only worry about themselves and have some peace and quiet. I’m lucky, because even though I stay busy 7 days a week, I also get to go at my own pace, and take a break to go outside or run errands. Their jobs don’t really allow that. 

Day 9: I’m thankful for my in-laws. I already had a big family before I married my husband, but I’m so grateful to have an extended family that is so wonderful. I can honestly say that my in-laws are thoughtful, kind, and so dependable. I can’t count how many times I’ve needed a ride to the store, to get my license renewed, or just needed a break from being home alone and they’ve come to the rescue. Even taking their days off to do something for me. I really have it good. I have a wonderful husband that I can count on, and his wonderful family too. You can’t beat that! Today my mother in law took me out and about for a few hours. We went shopping at my favorite place – Kohls, then had a lovely lunch out at Crispers, and then went to the store. It was great to laugh with her and just talk (I only have cats to talk to all day, it gets boring, and I need adult/human conversation!). I’m so glad that over the years we’ve gotten closer and not only do I have more in common with her, but I feel like I’ve finally grown on her. haha. 

Day 10: I’m thankful for my mom coming over early in the day, for no reason other than just to visit. She was working 2 jobs the past few years, so with her schedule and Dan’s schedule, and my lack of car – we really didn’t get to see each other as much as I would have liked. She recently received a promotion at work, and so her schedule has opened up drastically, so I’m so happy that now having brunch and hanging out for a few hours is a possibility. I had such a good time and just love sitting around and talking to her. 

Day 11: I’m SO thankful today to start the last project of my big 5 item custom order. It is going to feel so great to mail it off tomorrow or Wednesday! I’m counting down the days until Dan gets home, and there’s only 14 left. Another reason to be thankful. I’m also thankful for scott towels, because as I was getting ready to finish this off – a cat literally puked on my desk. Sigh. Be thankful, not bitter. I’m thankful that in a few weeks all the hard work I’ve been putting in will pay off and I can enjoy the holidays with my family and next year start a new chapter in my life. This year was a great chapter, and it’s only going to continue to get better. I’m a work in progress, and that’s okay. 🙂 

 

X’s and O’s,

Lulu

Leave a Reply

